Talkative and Jorien Saelens

Jorien Saelens obtained her Master's degree in Dutch and English Linguistics and Literature at the University of Ghent, where she graduated in 2014 with the greatest distinction. During her training, she already demonstrated her enthusiasm for language acquisition with a teaching assignment in the bachelor's program in which she taught younger bachelor students speaking and writing skills, and English lessons during the summer camps of Roeland Language Camps in Cottesmore, England.

At the Department of Translation, Interpreting and Communication at Ghent University, Jorien worked as a research and teaching assistant, focusing on language skills, academic linguistic skills and business communication. This was followed by the publication "A corpus-based analysis of V2 variation in Western Flemish and French Flemish dialects" and various conference presentations, including at the University of Cape Town, South Africa in January 2016.

In April 2016, Jorien founded her own business 'Talkative, Language Matters', which offers translations, proofreading and primarily customized language training. She has taught at a range of companies including Honda, Denys, PILZ, Syntra, CODA-CERVA and Actiris. To learn even more about entrepreneurship and teaching language skills, she moved to Manchester in 2017 with the Erasmus for Young Entrepreneurs program.

In addition, Jorien is affiliated with the Ghent University Language Center (UCT) as a Dutch-English teacher. She teaches practical language skills in both languages, business modules and various academic skills for doctoral students, such as presentation and writing skills. During the summer of 2018 she taught the Business Translation course of the Summer Course - Language, Profession and Culture, a collaboration between the Dutch Language Union and the UCT, in which bachelor and master students from all over the world improve their professional Dutch language skills.

In the brand new project MuziTaal, Jorien combines her love of language with a different approach: music, for which her enthusiasm is evidenced by her years of commitment in the choir Vox Mago. Together with Patrick Debrabandere, she wants to convince others that language education in combination with other stimuli, such as singing, making music and discovering Ghent's culture, has even more to offer. This approach is shared with others in an all-embracing Dutch immersion course full of music and culture in the inviting context of the city of Ghent.

logo Talkative.be - language matters!

Talkative et Jorien Saelens

Jorien Saelens obtient un Master en Langues et Lettres néerlandaises et anglaises à l'Université de Gand avec grande distinction en 2014. Son enthousiasme pour l'enseignement des langues transparaît déjà durant son baccalauréat et ses cours d'anglais durant les camps d'été de Roeland Taalvakanties à Cottesmore en Angleterre. 

Jorien occupe le poste d'assistante en recherches et cours pratiques au sein du département Traduction, Interprétation et Communication de l'Université de Gand, pour lequel les compétences académiques, linguistiques et en communication des affaires sont essentielles. Suivent une publication: "A corpus-based analysis of V2 variation in West Flemish and French Flemish dialects” ainsi que diverses conférences, entre autres à l'Université du Cap en Afrique du Sud, en janvier 2016. 

En avril 2016,elle fonde sa propre entreprise "Talkative, Langue Matters" qui propose des traductions, de la relecture et correction de textes et surtout des cours de langues personnalisés. Elle a de cette manière donné des formations dans des entreprises telles que Honda, Denys, PILZ, Syntra, CODA-CERVA et Actiris. Afin de se perfectionner dans l'enseignement des langues dans le monde professionnel, elle participe au programme "Erasmus pour jeunes entrepreneurs" en 2017, à Manchester.   

Jorien est également enseignante de néerlandais et d'anglais au Centre universitaire gantois pour l'enseignement des langues (Gentse Universitair Centrum voor Talenonderwijs, UCT) : compétences pratiques dans les deux langues, des modules consacrés aux affaires et différentes compétences académiques pour les doctorants, comme par exemple la rédaction ou la présentation. Durant l'été 2018, elle a donné la formation "Traduire dans le milieu professionnel" durant les Cours d'été - langues, profession et culture, une collaboration entre l'Union de Langue néerlandaise (Nederlandse Taalunie) et l'UCT, où les étudiants de premier et deuxième cycles en néerlandais de partout étaient réunis pour approfondir leurs compétences linguistiques professionnelles.  

Dans le nouveau projet Muzitaal, elle combine son amour des langues avec une autre passion: la musique, qui transparaît de par son engagement de longue date dans la chorale Vox Mago. En collaboration avec Patrick Debrabandere, elle souhaite partager sa conviction que combiner l'apprentissage d'une langue avec d'autres stimuli, tels que chanter, pratiquer la musique et découvrir la culture gantoise, a bien plus à offrir, surtout lorsque ces passions sont partagées avec d'autres, dans le cadre d'une immersion linguistique, musicale et culturelle dans le superbe cadre de la ville de Gand.  

logo Talkative.be - language matters!